APPG fails in bid to annul the Uprating Regulations

March 24, 2016 Frozen Pensions 1 Comment

The All-Party Parliamentary Group for Frozen British Pensions has regrettably failed in its attempt to secure a vote on the government’s Social Security Benefit Uprating Regulations 2016,  which now look set to freeze overseas State Pensions for another year.

The Social Security Benefit Up-Rating Regulations is the Statutory Instrument (secondary legislation) that the government uses to exclude some overseas pensioners from receiving the up-rating granted to all State Pensioners by the previously approved Social Security Benefit Uprating Order.

Unlike the Order, the Up-Rating Regulations are subject to negative parliamentary procedure, meaning that rather than requiring positive approval by MPs, they come into force unless actively challenged and annulled.

It is however notoriously hard for parliamentarians to challenge S.I.’s of this kind, given the lack of parliamentary time made available for such debates. In fact the last time an S.I. subject to negative procedure was defeated was in 1979. The APPG was however determined to give it a go.

APPG Vice Chair, Ian Blackford MP, led the APPG’s attempts to secure parliamentary time for a debate, tabling a Prayer against (Motion to Annul) the Uprating Regulations and petitioning the Speaker for an Emergency Debate.

Blackford’s Motion to Annul (tabled as EDM 1235) received the backing of 93 MPs, from 8 political parties (5 Conservative, 16 Labour, 54 SNP, 7 DUP, 3 Plaid Cymru, 2 SDLP, 2 UUP, 1 Green and 3 Independent).  The full list of MP signatories is below. On 24 March EDM 1235 was the 16th most signed EDM of the 2015/16 session (out of 1344 motions tabled at the time).

A public 38 Degrees petition calling for the Uprating Regulations to be withdrawn also received nearly three thousand signatures from UK voters within days of being launched.

However, on  23 March 2016 the Speaker decided not to allow time for the debate, and parliament has since risen for recess, returning only after the Uprating Regulations come into force (11 April 2016).

The APPG would like to thank all MPs who supported this initiative. We will now seek to work to repeal the Up-Rating Regulations, by other means, when parliament returns and will also continue our ongoing dialogue with the government, making a positive case for partial up-rating.



Full list of MPs who supported Ian Blackford’s Motion to Annul the Uprating Regulations

Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley
Davis, David Conservative Party Haltemprice and Howden
Chope, Christopher Conservative Party Christchurch
Gale, Roger Conservative Party North Thanet
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down
Thomson, Michelle INDEPENDENT Edinburgh West
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green
Cadbury, Ruth Labour Party Brentford and Isleworth
Harris, Carolyn Labour Party Swansea East
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West
Phillips, Jess Labour Party Birmingham Yardley
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran
Blackman, Kirsty Scottish National Party Aberdeen North
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East
Brock, Deidre Scottish National Party Edinburgh North and Leith
Kerevan, George Scottish National Party East Lothian
Kerr, Calum Scottish National Party Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar
McCaig, Callum Scottish National Party Aberdeen South
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South
McDonald, Stuart Scottish National Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire
O’Hara, Brendan Scottish National Party Argyll and Bute
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire
Donaldson, Stuart Scottish National Party West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine
Paterson, Steven Scottish National Party Stirling
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock
Fellows, Marion Scottish National Party Motherwell and Wishaw
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian
Chapman, Douglas Scottish National Party Dunfermline and West Fife
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim
Elliott, Tom Ulster Unionist Party Fermanagh and South Tyrone

Previous Post

Next Post


  1. Angela Maret
    March 26, 2017 - 7:45 am

    What happened to “The once British principles of justice and fairness” – the idea of fair treatment and “fair play. It has obvious sadly gone along with many other principles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *